## Ohio Jersey Breeders Association Annual Meeting

Championship banners, state futurity wins and national recognition in the show ring are all titles one very active Ohio family can claim. Being awarded the 2009 Pioneer Service Award on behalf of the Ohio Jersey Breeders Association (OJBA) is another designation the Smart family can add to their solid resume.

The Smarts were among many that were honored at the 127<sup>th</sup> annual meeting of the OJBA January 23, 2010, at the Der Dutchman in Plain City. The association had 164 people in attendance and waves of good news to cover.

Receiving the top honor were Ted and Diane Smart, Anna. For the past 30 years Ted Smart has been working to develop a strong herd of registered Jersey cattle. When wife, Diane, joined the mix in 1996, a new era began for Smarts Jerseys. Joined by their four children, Glenda Smart, Lori Smart Jones, Brad Curtis and Amanda Curtis Dagenfield, the Smart family has a tradition of excellence in the Jersey breed.

They have bred five Ohio Futurity winners, five Ohio State Fair Grand Champions and three Champions at the Central National Junior Jersey Show — two of which went on to become Supreme Champion of the World Dairy Expo Junior Show. The All American Jersey Show has also been good to the Smart family as Robin Acres Ren Alpha 10F was named Reserve National Grand Champion in 2004.

In addition to breeding champions in the ring, the Smart family has been a champion outside of the show ring. With both Ted and Diane serving as organization chairs and director at large of the OJBA, they have continually shown their commitment to the Jersey breed. Ted is currently serving as president of District 5 and both he and Diane are very active in planning the Ohio Spring Sale every Memorial Day. Diane is an advisor for the Ohio Junior Jersey Breeders Association.



Receiving All-Ohio awards at the state's annual meeting were: Donna Greiwe, Ethan Oakley, Marc Bolen, Kevin Williams, Jake Hershberger, Deb Stanfield, James Morgan, Darren Schindel and Ray Hesler



Donna Greiwe was recognized for her two years of service as president by new OJBA president, Deb Foster.

In other business, OJBA President Donna Griewe, Sidney, welcomed members and began discussion on how to build consumer confidence through the media and programs like the new Queen of Quality All-Jersey labels and the National Youth Academy. An announcement was made that the 2011 National Heifer sale will be an all-donation sale with proceeds going to the Jersey Youth Academy. Scott Higgins of the American Dairy Association-Mid East was also on hand to give reports on the Dairy Check Off program's work with the business industry as they promote a healthier lifestyle in schools.

Executive Secretary of the American Jersey Cattle Association Neal Smith was present and guaranteed members that the Jersey breed is thriving and is the cow for today's times. Also speaking to the members was AJCA Director Bill Grammer. He covered the success of the 2009 Jersey Youth Academy and future opportunities.

## **Ohio Senior Officers and Awards**

Donna Greiwe introduced the 2010 board of directors and officers: president Deb Stanfield, Fort Loramine; vice president Neal Diley, Canal Winchester; secretary and treasurer Jim Bolen, Fremont; and board secretary and treasurer Julia Stevens, Urbana. In recognition of her dedication to the Jersey breed, incoming president Deb Stanfield presented outgoing president Donna Greiwe with a certificate and crystal bowl.

Receiving All Ohio Awards were S &



Ohio Jersey breeders selected to serve the association in 2010 were: Secretary/ Treasurer Jim Bolen; Vice President Neal Diley; President Deb Stanfield and Board Secretary/Treasurer, Julia Stevens.



Ted and Diane Smart received the Pioneer Service Award at the Ohio Jersey Breeders Annual Meeting in January. They are pictured here with their family, from left to right, Alexis Roe, Lori Smart Jones with Natalie, Allyson Jones, Diane and Ted and Amanda Dagenfield.

O Jerseys (2) Springfield; Ja-Lynn Jerseys (2), Winchester; Greiwe & Knoop Jerseys (6), Sidney; Cream Hill Farm, Newark; Jodrey Jersey Farm, Winchester; McKay & Thomas, Hillsboro; Stanfield Jerseys (3), Fort Loramie; Williams Jerseys (5), McConnelsville; Hershberger & Duvall, Chillicothe; Clear View Jerseys, Orient; Leon Hesler Family, Winchester; HLF/Anderson Jerseys, New Philadelphia; Highland Jerseys, Fremont; Triple T Jerseys, North Lewisburg; Morgan Jerseys, Urbana; and Cole, Mauric, Kinzer & McCauley, Conneaut.

## **Ohio Junior Officers and Awards**

The Junior officers were also announced during the annual meeting: president Meagan Bolen, Fremont; vice president Alexis Roe, Sidney; secretary, Kira Andre, Wauseon; treasurer, Erin Williams, McConnelsville; and news reporter Kelsey Oakley, West Liberty.

During the afternoon session numerous awards were presented to junior members of the association. Payton Curran, Greenville, was the recipient of the Outstanding Boy Award, sponsored by Jerry Rismiller, Greenville; Erin Williams, McConnelsville, received the Oustanding Girl Award that had been sponsored by Starwischer Jerseys, Mechanicsburg. The Diley Family Memorial Award went to Brittany Ashcraft, Orient, while the Ohio Junior Achievement Award, sponsored by the Ohio Jersey Breeders, went to Meghan Bolen, Fremont.

The All Ohio Junior Awards were also presented at this time by Deb Stanfield and Ohio Junior Jersey Queen Kelsey Oakley, West Liberty. Receiving awards were Trevor Greiwe (5), Sidney; Jody Williams (2), McConnelsville; J.T. Lemmermen, Galloway; Deidre McKay, Springfield; Erin Williams (4); Grace Hageman Sidney; Jake Blackburn, Galloway; Heath Geyer (3), Botkins; Hannah,

(continued to page 54)

Page 52 JERSEY JOURNAL



Marissa, Trent and Meagan Bolen and Jody and Erin Williams all received junior production awards at the annual meeting.



Junior All Ohio winners were recognized at the Ohio Junior Jersey meeting in January. Ten Jersey youth were on hand to receive their awards.



Junior officers elected were President Meagan Bolen; Vice President Alexis Roe; Reporter Kelsey Oakley; Treasurer Erin Williams; and Secretary Kira Andre.



Neal Diley presents Brittany Ashcraft with the Diley Achievement award.



The Ohio Outstanding Boy award was presented to Payton Curran by Jerry Rismiller.



The Ohio Outstanding Girl award was presented to Erin Williams by Mark Hoewischer.

## **Ohio Meeting**

(continued from page 52)

Geyer (2), Botkins; Greg Cornish, North Fairfield; Alexis Roe; Calla Mazzaro (2), Williamsfield; Keaton Topp, Botkins; Ethan Starkey, Mechanicsburg; Marc Bolen, Fremont; and Jacob Morgan, Urbana.

Taking the top production award for 2009 was Jody Williams with overall winner Indiana Hope, with a winning re-

cord of 2-9 305 24,985 4.3% 1,803 3.6% 896 DHIA. Also taking home production awards were Erin Wiliams; Meagan Bolen (2); Trent Bolen, Fremont; and Marissa Bolen, Fremont.